Economic Developer Award

The awards have been cancelled for 2020 and will return for 2021!


Sharing our stories and celebrating our successes will ensure that economic development initiatives continue to grow. In 1995, the Cando Economic Developer of the Year was created to recognize and promote recent or long-standing Indigenous economic development initiatives throughout Canada.

Each year Cando awards three categories:

  1. Individual EDO
  2. Community
  3. Indigenous Private Sector Business

As well as an award of recognition to each runner-up. In previous years it was the tradition of Cando to award the Economic Developer of the Year Award, and three Recognition Award Winners. In 2002 a new category was introduced – the Individual Economic Developer of the Year. And in 2008 another category was added Indigenous Private Sector Business.

Three outstanding examples of Aboriginal economic development will be awarded for their hard work this year. Delegates at the National Conference vote for 3 categories: Individual EDO, Community & Indigenous Private Sector Business. There are also three runner up categories selected to receive recognition awards.

Download a copy of the Nomination Form here.

Nomination deadline for 2021 to be announced.