Upcoming Events 

There’s always something happening at Cando! Check back often as we continually update our community with current events. Do you have any news or events you would like us to share? If you have any questions, or would like us to share your news and/or upcoming event, please email them to Paul Macedo.

 


2020


 

 


Links to Learning

L2L Webinar Series Banner

The L2L Webinar Series launches October 2020!

 

Every Tuesday (Alberta and BC) and Thursday (Manitoba and Saskatchewan)

Successful land management and economic development initiatives are key to building healthy, thriving Indigenous communities. Links to Learning (L2L) is developing a virtual training series that provides a wide range of learning opportunities for Economic Development Officers (EDOs) and Lands Management Officers (LMOs).

The L2L Webinar Series will include weekly scheduled delivery of virtual workshops, presentations and panels led by experts in a range of Indigenous economic and land development related disciplines unique to the region. Each of the four (4) streams will be customized to address issues and learning relevant to the region.

In addition, the L2L Webinar Series will deliver two Accredited Training courses that can be used to earn course credits towards Cando’s TAED Certification or PAED re-Certification.

Check it out current courses being offered here.

Download L2L Webinar Series Poster

The L2L Webinar Series Days and Times!

L2L - BC Webinar Series  

BC Links to Learning 
Tuesdays
1:00pm PT; 2:00pm MT; 3:00pm CT; 4:00pm ET

MC: Michelle Nieviadomy
Co-MC: Keith Matthew

L2L - AB Webinar Series  

Alberta Links to Learning
Tuesdays
9:00am PT; 10:00am MT; 11:00am CT; 12:00pm ET

MC: Michelle Nieviadomy
Co-MC: Shawna Morning-Bull

L2L - SK Webinar Series  

Saskatchewan Links to Learning
Thursdays
1:00pm PT; 2:00pm MT; 3:00pm CT; 4:00pm ET

MC: Aubrey-Anne Pewapisconias-Laliberte
Co-MC: TBC

L2L - MB Webinar Series  

Manitoba Links to Learning
Thursdays
8:00am PT; 9:00am MT; 10:00 CT; 11:00am ET

MC: Michelle Nieviadomy
Co-MC: Tim Daniels

 

Wednesday Webinar Series

November 25, 2020

FMB Webinar: Plan Your First Nations’ Financial Future

Hear from First Nations leaders as they share their success stories of implementing strong economic and social development plans. Discover tools your First Nation can leverage, at no cost, to plan your financial future. Learn how to build or enhance strong finance and administrative governance practices. And find out how to access affordable long-term capital. Plus, your chance to win numerous door prizes.

First Nations Financial Management Board (FMB) is an independent, not-for-profit First Nations organization that supports First Nations in strengthening their governance and financial practices.

To register, click here.
https://fnfmb.com/en/events/webinar-plan-your-nations-financial-future

FMB Webinar


 

Wednesday Webinar Series

December 2, 2020

NALMA Webinar: Developing a Community Land Use Plan on First Nation Lands

Description
Community land use planning (LUP) is the process of allocating lands, community resources, facilities, and services with a view to maintain and improve the physical environment and the economic and social conditions of a community. This process helps to enable First Nation communities to reach unique goals for their lands, ensure sustainable development, affirm rights, establish community values on the development of their lands, and determine future land uses. This webinar will provide an overview of community land use planning from a First Nation perspective, and guide participants through the process of initiating a land use plan.

Presenter: James Roach

James Roach

James Roach, MCIP, RPP is the Land Use Planning Coordinator at the National Aboriginal Lands Managers Association, where his focus is to build Land Use Planning capacity and provide support to First Nations communities. His areas of expertise include community land use planning and engagement, economic and sustainable development, lands management and developing strategic partnerships. James is an Ojibway of Batchewana First Nation in Northern Ontario.

To register:

Register in advance for this meeting:
https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJMod-2prz4sHNQrTwokk0_xjH8l6t4RAPqr

After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the meeting.



Past Events - 2019