Open Forum

March Open Forum

Open Forum Cream

March 8, 2021 at 12:00pm MST

11:00am PST; 12:00pm MST; 1:00pm CST; 2:00pm EST; 3:00pm AST

Open Forum March

This monthly Open Forum will be an opportunity for Economic Development Officers and others working in Indigenous economic development to discuss current projects, current events, and successes/ challenges.

The Open Forum will be framed around questions developed ahead of time to be discussed in breakout rooms. This will be a great opportunity to network with fellow EDO’s and those interested in Indigenous economic development from across Canada in a virtual way.

Introductions: Michelle Nieviadomy – MC (5 minutes)

Community Economic Development Initiative (CEDI) Presentation (15 minutes)

What is CEDI?
The First Nations Municipal Community Economic Development Initiative (CEDI) aims to improve the economic prosperity of participating First Nations and adjacent municipalities through joint community economic development planning and initiatives. CEDI is a joint initiative of Cando andFederationofCanadianMunicipalities(FCM).Through the CEDI program, Cando and FCM work with partner communities, consisting of First Nations and adjacent municipalities and often, other regional partners. As well, CEDI works to share lessons learned and stories of success as part of a community of practice with those who are interested in joint First Nation municipal community economic development.

Speaker: Marissa Lawrence - Senior Program Officer
Marissa has worked for Cando as the Senior Program Officer for the First Nation Municipal Community Economic Development Initiative (CEDI) since July 2017. As the CEDI Senior Program Officer, Marissa works with First Nation municipal partnerships to build and maintain respectful and equitable partnerships and to build capacity in joint community economic development and land-use planning.
Marissa has a rich background of designing and convening community-bridging intercultural dialogue and educational programming. Marissa holds a BA in Communications, Minor in Dialogue from Simon Fraser University (SFU), Dialogue and Civic Engagement Certificate from SFU, and is a Cando-certified Technician Aboriginal Economic Developer (TAED).

Breakout Session (30 minutes)

Breakout Questions:

  1. Indicate your name, community and your role within your community/organization

  2. Since overcoming COVID-19 barriers or delays, what new opportunities are arising in economic or business development within your community/organization?

  3. Do you currently collaborate with a neighbouring community on economic development (municipality, county, First Nation or Metis Settlement)?

  • If so, what do you collaborate on, and how has the pandemic impacted your joint economic development?

  • If not, do you see any opportunities for collaboration in post-COVID-19 economic recovery with neighbouring communities?

Q&A and Closing Remarks (10 minutes)

Cando will be supporting local Entrepreneurs/Artisans for prizes for participants.

Registration is required for this FREE event: 

https://zoom.us/meeting/register/tJErfuuvrzgvHdBDUtWNZ33_pV6lJ3zx6waf

You will receive registration confirmation via email.

----

Host/MC: Michelle Nieviadomy

Michelle NieviadomyMichelle Nieviadomy is Nehiyaw Iskwew (Cree woman) with a passion for wellness, social justice & community development.  

She is a member of Kawacatoose First Nation and while her roots are in Saskatchewan, she has called Edmonton home for the past 20 years.

She is the Assistant Director at the Edmonton Native Healing Centre. 

She is an entrepreneur with her own business called Iskwew Health promoting health & wellness in various capacities! (Zumba, meditation, bootcamp, fitness kickboxing, wellness retreats)  She believes movement is medicine & connection is everything!  

 

 

----

February 8, 2021 - Open Forum

Open Forum Cream

Open Forum Postcard 2