Board of Directors

The Cando Board of Directors consists of elected members who are responsible for managing the affairs of Cando. The Board of Directors is responsible for developing Cando's three year business plan, including budgets. It makes annual adjustments to the business plan, and provides direction to the Cando Office through the Executive Director, who ensures the business plan is executed. Directors must hold full membership in Cando, be involved in economic development, and employed by an Aboriginal organization or community. The Board convenes meetings two to three times per year at different locations in Canada and meets several times per year through teleconferencing.


Meet the Executive Committee

Keith Matthew

Keith Matthew

President & Director - Southern British Columbia

(250) 828-9833

Read Bio


Norma Spence Photo

Norma Spence
Vice President & Director - Manitoba
(204) 360-4817

Read bio
Elaine PhotoElaine Chambers
Secretary Treasurer & Director - Yukon
(867) 668-6925
Read bio


Trevor C. AcooseTrevor C. Acoose
Director - Saskatchewan
(306) 696-3121
Read bio

John HazenbergJohn Hazenberg
Director - Northwest Territories
(867) 445-8837
Read bio



RubyRuby Littlechild
National Student Director
(780) 902-2241

Read bio



Bertram MercerBertram Mercer

Director - Northern British Columbia
(250) 633-3000

Read bio


Shawna Morning BullShawna Morning Bull
Director - Alberta
(403) 238-9100
Read bio
Kevin Rose 2013Kevin Rose
Director - Ontario
(705) 968-1518
Read bio



Hal Timar PhotoHal Timar
Director - Nunavut
(867) 979-4620

Read bio
Helen Ward
Helen Ward-Wakelin
Director - New Brunswick & Prince Edward Island
(506) 624-4553
Read bio